Woods that you love and hate

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Harvestman

Bushcrafter through and through
May 11, 2007
Pontypool, Wales, Uk
Box (Buxus sempervirens) - a beautiful wood with amazing patterning in it that hardly needs any oil treatment BUT it is a complete pig to carve. Dave Budd described it painfully accurately when he said it was like trying to carve fossilized butter...

I nearly chose box as well. I have a piece that I have been failing to carve for three years. It just gets harder.

Teepee

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 15, 2010
Northamptonshire
Yew is my favourite too by far, beautiful grain and contasting colours.

Least favouite is Blackthorn, mostly due to it's ability to go straight through footwear soles and into my foot.

Parbajtor

Maker
Feb 5, 2014
Surbiton
www.tanczos.co.uk
Thuya - best smelling wood to work by far. I love the smell.
Yew - the dust on my skin is like bad sunburn and it gives me headaches but it's lovely to work.
D.I. stinks and makes great sneezing powder but it's beautiful.
Yellow Poplar and Honoki, great for planing and chiselling long thin curls.
Jarrah, work it wet or blunt your tools. You can't even drive a nail into it.

Kerne

Maker
Dec 16, 2007
Gloucestershire
Holly….beautiful light coloured wood, and it splits :(

M
Just got access to a source of unseasoned holly - about 4" diameter. Any suggestions as to what I could use it for? I believe it was the wood of choice for chess pieces at one time. ( The black pieces were stained with boot polish).

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Season it slow and do it cold.