Forest gardening?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Abbe Osram

Native
Nov 8, 2004
Sweden
milzart.blogspot.com
Hi guys,
I need some advice from our farming people here at BCUK.
I wonder if there is a teaching of enviormental friendly gardening in a forest.
My question is if its possible to grow potatos and other vegetables in the forest without cutting trees. Is it possible to grow stuff over the ground and around the trees? I dont know if I made myself clear as I am new to the whole thing of gardening. I only dont want to chop down the forest and build a garden by cultivating it. Is there a wilder way of gardening maybe called: Forest gardening?

thanks
Abbe

Abbe Osram

Native
Nov 8, 2004
Sweden
milzart.blogspot.com
Looks very intersting mate, but is it ok to introduce new plants into our countries? I heard that this can cause big problems in the enviorment if done wrong? But I love the plant. Lets see what I can do with it.
How high are you up in the north? I am 150 km over the arctic circle do you think that plant will survive here?

PS Ahh, just checkt out the plant. We got it in sweden but it doesnt grow so high up. I could try out an experiement and see if I get it in my little lake to grow but dont know if it will work.

do you know anything about growing stuff in the ground around trees?
I know that one can grow potatos in barrels over the ground. One can get quite a big harvest. What about other roots, is that working with carrots too?

cheers
Abbe

leon-1

Interesting idea Abbe, I don't honestly know.

I would say that the type of forest would definitely have an affect on what you can grow (spruce and pine can cause high acididty levels in the earth) making it suitable only for plants that can handle this type of soil.