Power monkey extreme?!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Jonbodthethird

Settler
Sep 5, 2013
Kettering/Stilton
I'm looking into buying a solar charger I've seen the the previous power monkey at £21 but this new extreme at £93 what's the actual difference. Is Is noticeable at nearly 5 times the difference?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

quietone

May 29, 2011
Wales
The new one is 12 volt now, old one is 5 volt. I've been using an original from release, can't fault it, or manufacturers service, after sales help. They gave me a light monkey to try before they released those too, which is a handy bit of kit too.

Quixoticgeek

Aug 4, 2013
Europe
I've been using the original since 2012. Wonderful bit of kit, can't fault it. I intend to upgrade to the 12v version at some point when I have the funds.

Julia

baggins

Apr 20, 2005
Coventry (and surveying trees uk wide)
we have the newer 12v PM extreme, had it for just over a year now and have to say it really is the dogs danglies! keeps an iPhone, 2 blackberries and a tablet going for 3 days (nice sunny ones mind!). would be seriously lost without it when we go camping now.

Quixoticgeek

Aug 4, 2013
Europe
One of the few improvements I would love to see made to the power monkey extreme, is the ability to use two solar panels, for when it's not quite as bright.

J

cbr6fs

Native
Mar 30, 2011
Athens, Greece
If you don't mind a more modular solution here's the system i'm currently using

IMG_3669_zps2124588e.jpg

I tend to be heavy on my phones battery as i use it to log my hikes, still this gives me around 3 to 4 days recharging.
As i usually restock every 3 to 4 days i'll just use a power socket to recharge both (about 3 to 4 hours) then i'm set for another 3 to 4 days.