Making Sparks with a Fire Steel

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Mike313

Nomad
Apr 6, 2014
South East
Hi All,
I bought a firesteel a few months ago and after a bit of practice - I'm a old-aged beginner :) - I came reliably start a fire using birch bark shavings, cotton wool + Vaseline or chap-stick etc. I get great sparks using the back of my Opinel carbon steel knife and with a striker made from a bit of a hacksaw blade (the original striker that came with it was hopeless) BUT I can't really get any sparks using the back of my Mora knife. The Mora is the "Morakniv Heavy Duty F (C)", the one with the orange and black handle and the orange sheath and it says Carbon Steel on the blade but it is very 'stainless looking' unlike the Opinel which is obviously carbon steel. Is there a mod I can do to improve things, such as roughening the back of the blade with a file? Ta in advance.

Last edited:

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
Quite often you need to grind the spine of Mora's so they work properly with fire steels as they're not finished very well really.

An alternative is to try this method as demonstrated by Paul Kirtley

rancid badger

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
If, for some odd reason you really want to use the back of a knife for striking sparks (These days, I don't "get it", I really don't!:confused: ) you're going to have ensure that the back of the blade has a good, flat, square edge to it.

Best done by grinding it flat, rather than trying to do it with a file.

Better still,rather than eventually end up in A&E with severed tendons, make yourself something like this:
[video=youtube;bc2wQ9ryts0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bc2wQ9ryts0[/video]

Sorry about the music, I've tried to change it but it won't let me for some reason!

sincere best wishes

Steve