Best Sub £50 Hatchet?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

HillBill

Bushcrafter through and through
Oct 1, 2008
W. Yorkshire
Use the same sharpening method but put a layer of foam under the sandpaper.

morning guys, Thanks for the replies.

I probably should have mentioned I've had about 15 years experience using axes as I spent my life from the age of 6 onwards in Scouts. I've still got the skills at using everything from a hatchet upwards. but We never used anything smaller, nor anything different than cheaper wooden hafts. it was back in my scouting days I first spotted the Gerber sport

and as for that sharpening, that guide £5 guide is for knives isn't it? as he's also done a specific axe guide

come the suggestions coming tho. :)

dwardo

Aug 30, 2006
Nr Chester
morning guys, Thanks for the replies.

I probably should have mentioned I've had about 15 years experience using axes

come the suggestions coming tho. :)

Why are you asking us for advice then lol ;)

and as for that sharpening, that guide £5 guide is for knives isn't it? as he's also done a specific axe guide

Perfect for an axe so long as you keep on top of it. A ding will need a file first but they are peanuts too.

As for the Gerber axe i have had a play with one. I didnt like the feel of it at all, the balance was poor due to the hollow handle and the grind was not good.

leon-1

There's a lot out there to choose from.

Steel, the Estwing Sport Axe. A very good little axe, but the head may be a bit slim for splitting larger rounds. They are very strong and the steels on the ones that I have come across and owned has been very good. A swine to grind.