Dyneema

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Joonsy

Native
Jul 24, 2008
UK
what qualities are you looking for, dyneema is noted for high strength with low weight and low stretch, qualities that make it ideal for some purposes and undesirable for other purposes, depends to what purpose it is put. used in climbing for low weight with high strength but has no dynamic qualities so application in use is critical for safety. http://www.dyneema.com/emea/explore-dyneema/the-dyneema-brand.aspx

Last edited:

Elen Sentier

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Thanks guys. I'm still learning about the stuff. I think I want to use some for ridgeline and maybe hanging my hammock but I already have whoopies which are dyneema (I think) and can't use it for tree-straps. Is it good for guylines, for tarps? It's the non-stretch along with light weight that's attractive.

ged

Jul 16, 2009
In the woods if possible.
Why do you think you need Dyneema? Its only real grace is its light weight.

It isn't a very pleasant material to handle, putting secure knots and splices in it can be a challenge and it doesn't resist heat nor abrasion very well -- especially since it's likely to be thinner than other cordage that might be doing a similar job.

I personally loathe the stuff. Give me nylon paracord any day, and that 's bad enough.

On a small boat, for preference I'd use polyester for things like sheets (you don't want to haul hard with your hands on anything thinner than about 12mm) and if it couldn't be steel wire maybe something with a kevlar core for halyards. Standing rigging would be steel.
You might save a few kilos with Dyneema, but if I get in a boat I'm obviously not in that much of a hurry to get anywhere. :)

ged

Jul 16, 2009
In the woods if possible.