Dartmoor help

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Magicdan

Jan 29, 2012
Camberley
Hi all, be on before and could'nt find an answer so I've registered.
Me and a couple of buddy's are going over to Dartmoor for a spot of Wildcamping over a long weekend.
I've done it many times before, however, this is my first time on Dartmoor!
So my question to all you seasoned pro's, is, have any of you been on Dartmoor at the beginning of March (the 2nd to be precise!) and if so, what's the weather normally like? I just wanna know what sort of kit I should take as I prefer to travel as light as possible!
Thanks for helping!

SCOMAN

Life Member
Dec 31, 2005
Perthshire
Dartmoor that time of year I'd recommend that you bring a full winters kit. It's incredibly unpredictable there at that time of year so prepare for the worst. I've seen snow there later in the year than that. Good luck it's a fantastic place.

redandshane

Native
Oct 20, 2007
Batheaston
Welcome to the forum
I have been on Dartmoor most months of the year and it doesn't really matter what time of year it is the weather is very changeable and can do remarkably quickly so you need to be prepared clothing and shelter wise.
Weather forecast nearer the time will give you some idea of temperatures and general conditions but I wouldn't trust them implicitly.

Magicdan

Jan 29, 2012
Camberley
Cheers for the response guys, checking the forecasts a few days before seems like a good plan! Am I right in presuming that it's going to pretty wet, I know it's moorland and that tends to be pretty boggy.

redandshane

Native
Oct 20, 2007
Batheaston
Wet alright!! the good news is water is abundant and I just boil it for safety's sake ,so there you go turning a potential negative into a positive ,not bad for dreich sunday afternoon.