Razor clam

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Dec 15, 2008
Bonny Burntisland
I am curious whether anybody has gathered sea food, particularly razor clams in the Kirkcaldy coastal area. Im in Burntisland, and would welcome making contacts of anyone with knowledgwe of this. Im an enthusiastic amateur.

Thanks

warthog1981

Native
Jun 3, 2004
Fife
I,ll just point out that the big yellow buoy that you can see from Ravenscraig beach at Kirkcaldy it the main sewer outlet for the sewage treatment plant on the same beach :(

So maybe not the best place to gather food from the sea

PS I live in Kirkcaldy :D

Dec 15, 2008
Bonny Burntisland
Thanks Warthog. I have a couple of points regarding the sewage outlet.

1. I saw people gathering on the beach recently, so i reckoned it was fine. Would you happen to know the best people to advise on water quality and to seek further advice on gathering locally, seeing as your a local.

2. Is there any real difference between sewage in the water and putting manure on your veg? Excuse my ignorance, but i really don't know.

warthog1981

Native
Jun 3, 2004
Fife
It might be safe then again it might not be im not sure who to ask to be honest :(

Yeah a big difference putting manure on your veg feeds the plant but putting sewage on shellfish concentrates all the bad bacteria in the shellfish some off them can make you very very ill :(

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire

andybysea

Oct 15, 2008
South east Scotland.