Question: What defines a bushcraft knife?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Stuart

Sep 12, 2003
The General said:
Behave yourself Stuart... You are an expert and anyone who says otherwise can argue with me! :)

:confused: sorry to disappoint guys but I'm no expert, Far from it I'm a rank armature compared with some of the skill I witnessed from BCUK members at the Bushmoot, which put my meagre skills to shame. my plant lore as an example is appalling

don’t confuse my photographic and internet prolificacy with knowledge and skill, its usually the people next to me in the photos who are the real bushcraft masters.

I am an overly enthusiastic student delighted to have had the opportunity to glean a tiny portion of their vast knowledge.

Hoodoo

Nov 17, 2003
Michigan, USA
I think one of the reasons these threads occur so often is that there is often too much emphasis on THE ONE KNIFE. What is even more unusual is that the Woodlore knife is often seen as the ideal knife, yet I would venture to say that there is not an aboriginal group anywhere in the world that has ever had such a knife design as part of their traditional heritiage. I know a handful of years ago when I first asked Scandanavian makers if they would make me a full tang scandi knife, they thought I was nuts. This is an obvious indicater that bushcraft as a hobby and bushcraft as a way of life for people are two different things.