Pressure stoves

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

spader

Native
Dec 19, 2009
Scotland
Hi All

I am a newbie in stoves and lamps, and recently trying to learn and get used to these stuff. The other day, I was trying out newly arrived an old pressure stove. It doesn't seem too popular model. I cannot find much info about it. It was cheap, and was an ideal kit for learning.

It is a R M Picnic Wickless Stove. Seem all complete with rusty iron case and other bits. Did a quick set up, poured little amount of paraffin into the fuel tank, followed by alcohol on the pre heater, then lighted it. It ignited OK and started giving good bit of heat with noise.

A couple of points I noticed,

1. Pump nozzle seem a bit lose. When I pumping it up, it felt a bit hollow, and I did not feel any pressure doing it. Is this normal?

2. The flames are blue and very hot, but not that much or high. It makes good hissing noise though. I would have thought it would give taller flames, but they are quite low. Is it suppose to be like this?

Even with these doubts, I was able to boil a pan of water very quickly for making a cuppa in the back garden.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNFvZgLs3Y0

After about half hour of burning, when I released the pressure form tank, it powered off ok. All in all, it was a good fun testing it, and it is working OK - how perfect I am not sure. cheers.

Nice65

Brilliant!
Apr 16, 2009
W.Sussex
With regard the pump. If it's been dry for ages it might need a while to swell again.

Looks ok though, got that water hot quickly, and that's all you need really.

rik_uk3

Banned
Jun 10, 2006
south wales