My first spoon

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

sxmolloy

Mar 22, 2006
lancashire, north west england
I recently got a crook knife from Outdoor Code and have been busy trying to carve a spoon. This is my first attempt.

dscn1694af6.jpg

dscn1695vd7.jpg

dscn1696yb5.jpg

Now I know it's not the best spoon ever shown on here, far from it in fact, but I am quite pleased for a first attempt.

I've kind of got the bug now and was starting on a new one when....woops, the crook knife slipped and embedded itself in my left thumb, and I write with my left hand. Sharp things them Crook Knives :rolleyes:

dscn1697tj6.jpg

dscn1698mt2.jpg

I've also made the case for it like the one in Jon R's post
http://www.bushcraftuk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21907&highlight=crook+knife but it's nowhere near as nice so I won't show that one :) .

Thanks for looking and any tips are more than welcome.

ATB Stu

tommy the cat

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 6, 2007
SHROPSHIRE UK
That looks pretty good to me mate. My first attempt is still waiting for sanded looks a little like you suffered the same problem as me getting carried away with taking off al ittle too much from the handle!!!??!!!
Have a look at my pics .... anyway not a criticism as its better than mine,:D a bit addictive and very relaxing carving eh? Watch the fingers though (bet you dont do that again!)
Dave

jon r

Native
Apr 7, 2006
England, midlands
www.jonsbushcraft.com
I've also made the case for it like the one in Jon R's post
http://www.bushcraftuk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21907&highlight=crook+knife but it's nowhere near as nice so I won't show that one :) .

Thanks for looking and any tips are more than welcome.

ATB Stu