Knike sheath fron fat wood, yes or no

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

mikelangdon69

May 19, 2024
USA SC
Greetings and salutations from across the pond, SE US checking in and thanks for accepting my request to join. I'm a novice knife renovation carpenter, my newest attempt to make a custom sheath for an "interesting blade found while on a metal detection adventure. My time in the woods has lead me to paying attention to surroundings. I. Realize the abundance of fat lighter wood here, and decided to make a go of a wooden sheath .A 14 inch neck knife from F.Dick cutlery. Approximately 120 years old. Many advice above the terror it unleashes on my tools ,would be greatly appreciated. Salutations, and thanks in advance.

demented dale

Dec 16, 2021
hell
Greetings and salutations from across the pond, SE US checking in and thanks for accepting my request to join. I'm a novice knife renovation carpenter, my newest attempt to make a custom sheath for an "interesting blade found while on a metal detection adventure. My time in the woods has lead me to paying attention to surroundings. I. Realize the abundance of fat lighter wood here, and decided to make a go of a wooden sheath .A 14 inch neck knife from F.Dick cutlery. Approximately 120 years old. Many advice above the terror it unleashes on my tools ,would be greatly appreciated. Salutations, and thanks in advance.
welcome x

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire
Hello and welcome.
Did you type that intro on a phone? It is like the predictive text Gremlins have gone wild :lmao:

The image of a 14 inch knife is hard to reconcile with something you would want to carry around your neck. Baldrick style, maybe, but that is different from neck carry.

Why would you want a sheath made of fat wood?