Knife advice please!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Bushpig

Need to contact Admin...
Jun 27, 2005
www.spiritgarden.co.uk
Hi folks,

At some point in the ( I hope ) not to distant future I will be wanting to buy myself a knife suitable for a wide and general range of bushcraft needs. I have no knowledge or experience whatsoever with knives, I do not mind spending the money and am happy to save and get a good knife. What are the varying qualities of the different knifes on the market ? What sort of price am I looking at to get a knife of very good quality ( I would be looking for the sort of knife that should last most of a lifetime ! ...or thats my thoughts on it!). I have seen the woolore knifes on raymears website...are these good...or over priced? What knifes would you say are top of the market ? Are there a series of top range knifes, if so what would be the main differences?

Another main point that crops up is due to my inexperience I have not yet learnt how to properly sharpen a knife...therefore maybe buying something cheap to begin with is the better option,...I do not want to waste a very good knife because I dont currently possess the skill's to maintain it.

Any help appreciated

Booosh

Venger

Tenderfoot
May 30, 2005
Nottingham
To be honest Bushpig, I'd suggest you start off with a knife you can 'break' if you like.
Try a Mora training knife or a Lapp Pukko.
That way you can practice sharpening without worry and also get to grips with a knife to see what you like and what you don't.

Nothing like spending £230 to find you don't like it!

Venger

Bushpig

Need to contact Admin...
Jun 27, 2005
www.spiritgarden.co.uk