Why does it seem Americans shoot bows with heavier draw weights?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Handmade Matt

Tenderfoot
Oct 22, 2011
Surrey
Hey guys.
I've just bought my first bow and am really excited to start using it. The guys in my local shop were really helpful.
I took their advice and ended up leaving with a bow that has a 24lbs draw weight despite expecting to buy something more powerful and them even starting me on 22lbs on their little range.
Searching around again online it appears in the US this would considered very underpowered with many people even starting youth on more powerful bows.

Is this just because they are "Americans," no offence intended, haha.:AR15firin

Or are there other reasons? Are their lbs different from ours for example?
Thanks guys

Muskett

Forager
Mar 8, 2016
East Sussex
I'm no bow expert.
Not really as it depends on what you are trying to acheive.
High powered bows are hard to master, send their arrows a long way, and tend to destroy the arrows fast. Better to have a lower power while you learn what you are doing. For target use there isn't much point in having excessive power.

Bow hunting in America is huge with extended shooting seasons just for such tools. A hunting bow with efficient hunting arrows are a very effective hunting method in the right hands. Best shot placement gives a lethal "bleed our" result that is comparable to a rifle shot. Most of the power thing is to give a flatter trajectory, a decent range, the power to penetrate, and to deliver catastrophic damage including shock to the vital organs. No different to having a powerful gun. However, power is no substitute for accuracy as its accuracy that brings home the bacon.