SMK air rifles

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Siberianfury

Native
Jan 1, 1970
mendip hills, somerset
SMK air rifles can be found in most Gun shops in the UK and are proving to be highly popular with begginer air gunners as they are cheap, the SMK state that their rifles are full power and suitable for hunting small game.
I have just recently started hunting with air rifles (ive been shooting them since i was about 9) and decided to buy a more powerful and accurate air gun than my old .177 BSA cadet. as i am a student and had a tight budget of around £100 i went for a look around the gunshops in my area (buying from BBS was not an option as i cant register). after looking in a few and lookng on the internet i bought a smk19 in .22 for around £90, i was so pleased, some reveiws on the internet said that this gun was of poor build quality i should have listened. i found the quality ok but the trigger was hellist and the recoil was similar to that of a 12bore. after zeroing my scope, practicing and practicing untill i could hit a grape at 20 yards i aquired permission from a local farmer and off i went after rabbits, crows and pigeons.

scope zeroed at 30yrds i could see it was innifective at this range as very few of my kills were clean and often required a second shot. the first one to be wounded was a rabbit shot 25yrds away in the head, having done this it upset me, i hit the rabbit in the exact place but the pellet just didnt do the job i didnt hunt with that rifle after that.