New Jacket advice

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Oct 1, 2017
Norfolk
First up a confession. I'm not a proper outdoors person like the majority of members on here but I would really like to tap into the wealth of accumulated knowledge and experience if I may. I'm getting into outdoor photography and as winter approaches I'm looking for a new jacket.

Currently I use a Paramo Cascada for wet weather and when it gets cold I layer up with a base layer, fleece and the the coat. It works OK but Im looking to try and avoid that bundled up feeling so hoping to find a jacket that I can wear with either a base layer or microfleece underneath and keep warm.

For 3 season use and bumming around I have a Keela belay jacket which is fine but for standing on the coast with a north wind blowing I need something a bit more substantial. As a photographer there is quite a lot of inactivity so I'm looking for something insulated and windproof. I have considered down but am put off by the cost and it's general fussines.

It has been suggested that something like a Buffalo or Snugpak pile shirt would meet my needs but I'm not certain how warm these are if you are inactive.

Suggestions welcomed on what I should be looking at.

TIA

Robson Valley

Nov 24, 2014
McBride, BC
I've done a lot of all-season landscape photography, all analog 4"x5".
The usual view camera on a rail and big tripod.
Lots of standing around, waiting, just like you.

Coat details: they all work like bellows so a couple of details are important to me.
1. Draw string inside at about waist height. Embarassing to have to loosen that.
2. Long enough in the tail to sit on without frost-bitten cojones.
3. Knitted cuffs make a huge difference to air exchange, every time I move my arms. Remarkable feature.