Leather sheaths

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Janne

Sent off - Not allowed to play
Feb 10, 2016
Grand Cayman, Norway, Sweden
Me again, with another stupid question:
I am now ready to embark on starting making some sheaths. This is what I have done so far.
I have wet formed them, and dried under presdure to the wanted form, using individually cut wooden shapes.
Now, I thought of first glueing the edge together using a flexible glue, then do the fine shaping ( cutting) of the shape, then stitching.

Is that OK? The various Youtube totorial guys only stitch, but I am a raw beginner, and it should be easier to glue - cut - stitch. Then polish edges, stain, wax.
I can not see myself doing a decent stitching with two loose leather ends!

Edit: if this is the wrong subforum, please be kind to move to a more suitsble one!

Seagull

Settler
Jul 16, 2004
Gåskrikki North Lincs
For the two loose ends, I can only speak of my own ways of joining up the sections. It really depends on the type of sheath...f'instance the only way of sewing a leather upper to a wooden lower, is to mark out the stitches and literally haul the two edges together. Same thing applies with a one-piece deep Scandi sheath, the one with all the sewing on the reverse side..I dunno any other way.
But, when it comes to sewing the two bits of a wet-formed object, I find that a very large Stapler is the go-to kit. I also use the same gadget on 18 ounce canvas jobs.
Ceeg

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
I always glue before I sew - this is what I learned to do from Barney and Loveless's book "How to make knives".
Good enough for them is good enough for me!

Reactions: Dreadhead

Broch

Life Member
Jan 18, 2009
Mid Wales
www.mont-hmg.co.uk