Kirtley or O'Leary?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Joycey

Sep 26, 2016
SE London
Hi Guys, I would really like to do a week long bushcraft course and think I've narrowed it down to Frontier Bushcraft's Elementary or Wilderness Survival Skills' Wilderness Awakening. I tried to start a thread in the 'courses' forum, but haven't been able to post for some reason? Has anyone on here done either (or both) of the courses? If so, I'd love to get your feedback on your experiences with either school please.

Many thanks

Russ

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
I know Paul Kirtley and been on several courses run by him and his teaching skills are top notch. You won't regret any course you take with Frontier Bushcraft.

I've heard good reports regarding Joe O'Leary's courses but I've no personal experience to advise you.

TeeDee

Nov 6, 2008
Exeter
I've read joe o'learys book so id say go with Kirtley.

Ooooooh - I felt the claw marks from here.

I have Joes book , I've done a few courses with him but i'm interested in what you didn't like about the book?

Genuine question. I would class Joe as an Instructor so I'm sure he would be interested in some feedback if he reads this also.

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales
Have a look at some of Paul Kirtley's blogs and you'll have the measure of the man; if, after that, you choose somebody else I wish you well but in my view you'd be mistaken.

Ooooooh - I felt the claw marks from here.

I have Joes book , I've done a few courses with him but i'm interested in what you didn't like about the book?

Genuine question. I would class Joe as an Instructor so I'm sure he would be interested in some feedback if he reads this also.