50? 100? mW laser.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Architekton

Dec 17, 2017
London
hi all,

Any knowledge on good places to get a laser pointer? Something like a 2 AAA size maybe and around 50-100mW.

Im no expert so I don’t really know what/where to look. One thing i dint need is wierd shape or multi beam pointers. Just a typical pointer.

Cheers

Broch

Life Member
Jan 18, 2009
Mid Wales
www.mont-hmg.co.uk
hi all,

Any knowledge on good places to get a laser pointer? Something like a 2 AAA size maybe and around 50-100mW.

Im no expert so I don’t really know what/where to look. One thing i dint need is wierd shape or multi beam pointers. Just a typical pointer.

Cheers

Are you sure you want something that powerful? My own laser pointer, which works perfectly well in a typical presentation room, is nowhere near 50 to 100mW; I think it's nearer 1mW.

You can buy 100mW modules but they tend to be used for industrial application in my experience.

Reactions: Sundowner

Architekton

Dec 17, 2017
London
Hi and thanks for the reply

From the videos ive seen maybe indeed 100is a killer but 50 (if its real rating) is ok.
It has the ppower to interact with other things and even set things on fire.

For presentation I too use whatever pointer we get free on conferences hehe
Of course i dont want something huge with an industrialist heatsink :)

Broch

Life Member
Jan 18, 2009
Mid Wales
www.mont-hmg.co.uk
Ah, so it's not a laser pointer you want but a laser module. The 50mW and 100mW units I have used in the past (experimental laser range finding) all had quite hefty power supplies and heatsinks I'm afraid; but that was some time ago.

Hopefully someone on here will have more up to date experience.

Reactions: Architekton

Architekton

Dec 17, 2017
London